top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMargaret Fish

My book

For this book I knew I wanted to do an accordion fold, so I took a few 8.5x11 inch pages and cut them in half. I folded the side for a small lip and then folded the rest of the page in half. Made sure the seam was in the backwards fold and glued the black ones together and white together!


From here I drew the story or slides on each panel, in pencil (then pen) on the white side and silver sharpie on the black side. I wanted the darker page to be the death and dissipating into the universe side and the white one to be happier memories side. The front is a random assortment of memories, faded but with a largely remembered specific detail.








After drawing out the memories (in order reading with a loved one, having ice cream, mom's smile, signing the wedding certificate, husband's smile in old age, baby at home, and the engagement ring) I then colored them all in with markers. Both copic and prismacolor.














As for the back side I did the mausoleum, graveyard, road side view of the graveyard, the state, country, world, and universe. I painted it with acrylic paint and added touches of the silver sharpie to tie them all together.



I quite enjoy how most of this part turned out, but mostly I just had to get that universe or galaxy on paper and out of my noodle.


Once I finished both sides I glued them together!


I used PVA glue and a bone folder. Lined the paper with glue then used the folder to smooth it out.









Here are the final pictures! Hope you enjoy :)



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page